Just bought a Bass

Hey, all

As the title says, I just ordered me a bass. Decided on an Ibanez GSR206B in that beautiful (to me) Walnut finish. Its a six-string. I have zero bass experience. This may or may not have been an impulse buy. Short story, I was perusing holiday deals on sweetwater and started browsing through all of the instruments that I don’t own. Saw this bass, very specifically an 8lb 10oz with a rather standout application of the walnut finish. This beauty has been calling to me since. So, pulled the trigger and ordered it up.

Long story, the more I thought about it, the more a six-string bass made sense to me. I’m far more rhythmic than melodic. I have always gravitated towards percussion (particularly hand-percussion and tuned folkish percussion) and own quite a few instruments from those families. At the end of the day, I’m self-aware enough to realise that I likely will never have the particular type of hand/finger dexterity to play a standard guitar of any variety with any amount of virtuosity that would satisfy myself. The type of hand/finger dexterity required for bass, I believe I already more or less have. (this may be bullshit, but I believe it :sweat_smile:). Also, as I shift ever deeper into the Experimental/Ambient genres, something about the bass jsut seems more accessible to “noodling.” Like, I just know I can pick this thing up and make sounds that I want to hear and likely even compose with. Also, I ain’t getting any younger, but I’m thirsty for something a bit more traditional that allows me an opportunity to learn, while expanding/solidifying my western music theory knowledge.

So, anyone of you all play bass? How about six-string? 5/7/8/9/nth string? What should I be looking to tackle first? any good YT vids or channels I should follow? Books? DVDs? General bass theory? Specific to six-string material? I am a sponge, soak me in your knowledge sensei :joy: