Just Keep Working

I am not a Renoise expert, but I am better than I used to be.

Even though I had some experience with trackers (ModEdit), I had been using the linear DAW technology for so long that Renoise seemed foreign. Based on what I saw in the tutorial videos, I knew Renoise could allow me to do some things in the sonic realm that I wanted to do but had been unable to obtain using other tools (an argument could be made that this was due to my complete lack of talent). So, I kept at it. I worked along Duncan’s vids a few times. I asked a few questions (which were graciously answered by members of this community). And I kept working with it. The perseverance paid off, as I am working comfortably in Renoise.

If you are new to this program and maybe struggling a bit, I would say keep at it because the rewards are attainable and well worth the effort.

Anything decent requires work. And the payoffs come in unexpected ways. Watch out!

I have reached the point that I can make brutal synth noises with Renoise. Stuff was so harsh the neighbor’s cat took up smoking.

I remember being so intimidated by Renoise, and thinking I’d never be able to figure it out. Now it makes so much sense to me and I couldn’t imagine making sample-based music any other way.

the moment you start to consider it’s a work to do, the moment you are in troubles.

The learning curve probably depends on the way you are used to work. I never had any learning problems with Renoise, probably because I’ve worked with trackers in the golden age of Amiga.