Key Triggered Envelopes

I’m not shure if this is a well known trick, probably everyone knows this and use it all the time in secrecy just to annoy noobs with their skillz, but i’ve been a noob for 9 years and i just found it out and got very exited about it…and a little bit pissed i didn’t know about this earlier. :panic:
I thought you had to use pattern commands or automations to do these sorts of things, but this is so simple and solid.
I’m sorry if this is just a repost, but i couldn’t locate it in the 114 search hits i so carefully lie about having read through. :ph34r:

The trick is to use the init preset, set the key tracker from C-4 to B-4, connect it to an LFO’s reset value. Now you can draw any custom envelope and it will trigger every time a note plays and control whatever you want. :yeah:

I have done this in all of these tracks, quite basic function in the first two tracks and a bit more advanced in the next two, where the envelope goes through a hydra controlling several DSP’s:
http://www.mediafire.com/download/wc6o92y9b2byedg/KeyTriggeredEnvelopes.xrns

Hah
NOOB

Now that i finally know the answer to everyting i’m becoming 1337. B)

But seriously, is this an obvious feature of the key tracker? I mean, the velocity device works similarily, but it depends on velocity information while this trick works the same at any velocity, something i haven’t been able to do with the velocity tracker.

sure why not .
You could use the velocity device too if you want ,

Well how? I didn’t think of this way to use the key tracker before now.

Like i said the velocity device responds to velocity, so it can’t be used in this fashion unless i’m missing something?