Keyboard problems on Linux

Hi,

I am brand new to Renoise so execuse me, if my question is stupid.

I’m running Renoise on Fedora 33. When I’m loading a sample, I can start playing it by pressing the button on the upper left. Unfortunately I am unable to trigger playing or stopping it by using the space bar.
It seems to me like the entire keyboard is disfunctional. When I’m for example trying to adjust the pattern length, I double click into the field, which marks it as selected, but trying to type a new length leads to nothing. The selection remains unchanged.
Same thing when I try to copy and paste a sample using ctrl-c and ctrl-p.

Any idea what I’m doing wrong?

Cheers

So you can play and hear the sample with mouse controlling at least?

I don’t think you can play samples by default with spacebar. Your keyboard letters are assigned as keys and they can be used to playback the selected sample. Make sure the loaded sample is active and selected from the instrument list and try to toggle record mode off in case you still don’t hear anything by pressing the letter keys.

Take note what’s the difference between an instrument and a sample. An instrument can bundle many playable samples inside and apply different effects to them. Your instruments should be listed in the main view on the right side. Click on the instruments with MB2 and see what options are available in the drop menu. There should be a visible keyboard hotkey next to the action, and if not, you might be able to set one from the global preferences.

Take also note that in Renoise you need sometimes need make different parts its GUI active by clicking different sections of it with Alt+MB1. The active area gets highlighed with yellow borders by default. This means that now the active section responds to your keyboard hotkeys. So let’s say you want to copy and paste your instruments in the instrument window / list. Well, then you must make the window active first so your hotkeys get applied there.