Kontakt

Can I load only 1 instance of kontakt in renoise with different instruments loaded in a so-called multi (different instruments on different midi channels) and trigger those different instruments via different tracks in renoise or do i have to load different instances of kontakt with each instance having its own instrument loaded listening on a different midi channel.
I was wondering how the kontakt-renoise users out there do this ?

Thanks for helping this kontakt beginner out.

regards,

I’m a beginner too…

You can’t trigger the same Kontakt istance in different tracks(an alert message appears at the bottom of the renoise window:“the current VSTi is already playing in track X,enter the notes into this track or create a new istance to play on a different track”), but you can create your own multi instrument and use it into the same track, by using Kontakt’s mapping editor…

Hope this is helpful, I’m waiting for It-Alien’s answer, he is very expert :ph34r:

:drummer: see you :drummer:

Personally I use a different Kontakt instance for each instrument, as even if a multi could ever work, I wouldn’t want to put more than one instrument on a single track, which is the only way this could be done.

Kontakt is very light, at least compared to HAlion and SampleTank:
I can play 6 or 7 instances at the same time on my P3 733.

What you could try is to use Kontakt standalone and use ReNoise as a MIDI out host. I bet this should work for Multi instruments

It Alien how well does Kontakt run within renoise? Is it smooth or a bit glitchy?

Come to think of it they must make quite a good combination :huh:

Personally I’ve tried SampleTank, HAlion and VirtualSampler before deciding to buy Kontakt.