Linux Laptop For Renoise?

I will be buying a Linux Laptop at the end of May with the intention of running Ubuntu 12.04 LTS. I’m ditching OS X which I have been using on a variety of Mac laptops since 2003.

I was looking at System 76. But, I’m not sure my options? This new XPS 13 Ultrabook™ looks more up my alley.

Simple things like when I close the lid the laptop goes to sleep, the sound card works out of the box, long battery life, minimum cooling fan noise… It would be nice to see some progress for Linux concerning these kind of things.

I’m not a Linux newbie. I run CentOS on my server, have a Ubuntu 10.04 LTS workstation at my job. I have no problem setting things up myself. But, why? I’d like to avoid having a shitty “welcome to 1998 beige box” experience in 2012.

Any recommendations? What are you using?

I’m using a lenovo B570, seems stable enough here, but I don’t use it as a laptop with all the power management stuff etc. I bought a laptop to save space in my limited area. I’ve expanded the RAM in the lenovo to 8gig, well it was cheap!

I have a Dell XPS 15 here. I bought it mainly as a desktop replacement (which still is portable). So it is pretty powerfull (Core -7 quadcore, 8GB RAM), but the battery is very poor. The high res screen is amazing, though!
I have Linux Mint and Arch Linux running on it, both without any major problems.

Lenovo T series is what we’ve standardized on where I work, we use a modified version of ubuntu LTS for our linux laptops, “goobuntu” They went through a quite laborious vetting process, and in the end the Lenovo T series (currently the T520) is what they ended up with due to it’s wide-ranging compatibility with ubuntu. I can’t tell you where I work, but it’s one of those tech giants in northern CA.

I’d recommend you get a laptop w/ an nvidia video card, NOT ATI or any other vendor.