'Locking' instruments to tracks

I feel like I’m overlooking something obvious again… but…

–I have a MIDI keyboard going in.

–I want to switch the tracks AND instrument I’m playing simultaneously.

–But if I click on a different track, the instrument doesn’t change. I get the same instrument on a different track (with different FX, volume etc). So I have to remember to click each time first on the track and THEN on the instrument.

This seems like odd behaviour. How often will I want to keep playing the same instrument on a different track vs. playing different instruments on different tracks? Particularly playing live, it’s annoying. Maybe there’s a simple setting I’m overlooking somewhere?

(PS: I’m enjoying Renoise a lot. Played my first live show since switching to it last night and it sounded pretty good. Obviously I’m still a newbie with some aspects of it… but it continues to get more exciting to use as I learn more.)

It’s not possible. And yes, it is annoying. But Renoise is also not meant for live playing. Redux, the new product however is, so I assume it will be possible there. And if we’re lucky, they will port that functionality back into Renoise in the next version.

Please take a closer look at the MIDI tab, specifically the MIDI Input section.

When triggering from an external MIDI controller (or multiple different controllers), each instrument can be locked to a specific MIDI device, channel, note range, and even a specific track. Any incoming notes matching those criteria will automatically be routed to the desired track — you don’t even have to touch Renoise to change instrument or track, you simply make the necessary change on your controller.