Making Breakcore In Renoise

I have some questions about making breakcore in renoise. I’m kind of new to the whole making electronic music thing as far as sample based music goes. I’ve made some amateur trance in fruity loops and some experimental synth music in renoise, but now I want to try and make breakcore.

Heres what I do understand:

From my understanding breakcore is based on this drum break called the amen break. In order to make breakcore you cut and slice up the amen break to get six slices of the snare and bass drum hats etc. And you use those slices and rearrange the amen break around, and add distortion to the drums.

Heres what I don’t get:

I really hear so many different kinds of breakcore out there that I don’t get what some of the artists are doing. For example some seem to not even cut and slice the amen break up, and rather just loop it some how. Some seem to take that loop that they have of the break and make the bass stand out, with some kind electronic echoing effect. How would you make that effect if you were just looping the amen break? And how do you loop the amen break?

How do sync up the amen break with the tracker is another thing I don’t get. Also When I try to speed up the tempo or slow it down it won’t do it. This is before I cut and slice.

I’m also a bit confused as to what kind drums besides amen breaks are typical used in breakcore. I hear some artists using bongos and others it sounds like there using a mix between the renoise drum kit and the amen break to make layers of drums. Are all drums in breakcore sample based, and is the amen break the break typical used?

Also distorted drums seem to be a problem for me. I hear a lot of distortion in songs, it kind hard describe, its like the drums aren’t really even drums there just there for distortion and than there’s like other drums and breaks that aren’t as distorted, kinda hard to explain that one.