Modshift (House/experiemental)

Please just give a honest opinion. I don’t want to continue making crappy tracks. Can’t really find a group that will help out amateurs. I am a hobbyist that wants to be good at the art.

http://soundcloud.com/mastermarcus/modshift-11

the song is quite alright actually. the mixing and the choice of samples/synths are okay … could be better, the structure of your song is alright, but i feel like you had a problem with writing the melody.
harmonically it’s confusing and i don’t know if you’re just guessing which notes or chords might work well together or if you’re intentionally trying to throw off the listener. it ends up being a little bit annoying to listen to, especially when the other synths/effects/voices have a hard time supporting your melody. they sound just as unsure which notes to play.

since you’ve uploaded only one song i can’t give you any advice because i don’t know if you were just lucky with the mixing or if the problem with the melody is a reoccurring thing or not.

I think I see what you are talking about. I was trying to be different but I guess keeping it more simple is the best idea. I really had no direction honestly, maybe that my problem. People actually like the song I made before than one better but I thought it sucked and was too simple.

i listened to both songs again and analized them as good as i can so that i can pinpoint what i think is strange. maybe i was too harsh in my first reply but i still think that there’s something off with your harmonies.

in Modshift you constantly seem to switch between what sounds like A minor and A major (transposed down from C sharp for simplicity) because you put in F sharps and C sharps whereever you think they would fit the best. your other instruments seem to adjust to it quickly but all in all it sounds kind of unconventional.