My 1st Release...

I am really new to writing music - been sitting here with renoise for about 3 nights now, anyhow I put together this, and was wondering if anyone would have any tips/ideas on improving it. I let a friend hear it, and he said it was good, which is the main reason I put it here.

Rhoderon

The sounds were made with Z3ta+, and the track with Renoise, looking forward to hearing what you all have to say - hope I am doing good here ;)

pretty good for a first song :)
kinda drones on repetitively though, is this what you’re going for? maybe add some percussion.
too much panning to the left.

yep, pushing right chan and it sounds better :)

the 2nd long sustain lead is not as good as the first … think you got a few notes of track but thats easy to fix :P

add some low tom + rim stick for percussion and its some nice first song mate! i like the overall mood.

playing with eq, compressor, room simulation etc. would help on master track also but not realy needed to listen. keep going.

Thanks for the positive comments - I am in the process of working on my 2nd tune, I think it is coming along nicely, and I’ve uploaded a sneak preview of how it is coming along Out of Time, I’ll give this one its own thread when I am finished - I hope to make it a rather more complex affair than the first, and am hoping to make it last between 10 and 15 minutes without seeming repetitive.
Would like to hear what people might have to say about this snippet as well, as I have not really mucked around with music ever, and only really started 1/1/2008 - I guess it is suprising just how much I like the musics I make ;)
Anyhow - between RL, and game time, I am finding it hard to keep up with all the forums I am registered on, looking forward to maybe becoming regular here :)