Need Tool for Pasting Hz Values for Automation

I need to paste values(in Hz) from a spreadsheet into automation for the old RingMod.

Also, if working with percentages, I need to know how to scale the percent for Hz.

I took a look at the xml for a basic project with automation, but couldn’t figure out how to modify the values to get what I needed.

I looked at the Tools catalog, but didn’t immediately see anything that would allow pasting automation values.

I’ve never worked with Lua before, but I’d be willing to give it a shot, developing the tool if someone can point in the right direction.

Before starting, it seems a little out of place to make a tool for “something old”, which is no longer in the latest version of Renoise…

There are two ways to automate, directly in the pattern editor in the effects column or in the automation editor.

Vvoois_renoise_dsp_ringmod.png

http://tutorials.renoise.com/wiki/File:Vvoois_renoise_dsp_ringmod.png

This seems to be the old RingMod. If you want to build a tool, it may involve using the old API, of the Renoise version with that RingMod. The current RingMod is different, supposedly with a different API.

That said, I suppose you want to vary the frequency of the oscillator along the sequence of a pattern. This implies knowing the number of lines of the pattern, since the resolution will be a variation of the value for each line. If you have 64 lines, you can only vary this value 64 times if you use the effect column of the pattern editor. Instead, you can handle more variations if you use the automation editor (many more points).

Then, there must be a relationship between the number of lines in the pattern (its length) and the groups of values in your Excel file. That is, you need to know exactly what you want to do.