New here - Question about the way Renoise sounds?

Hello, I’m new to Renoise, sort of… I remember messing with Trackers in the late 1990s, probably even Renoise if it was around then… But I couldn’t get my head around the way they worked, and I had Cubase at that time, and didn’t see any reason to really dig deep into learning how to use Trackers… Looking back, I really wish I did now! Think my music might have gone in different directions over the years if I had got started with Trackers a long time ago. Oh well, I guess that time is now.

So I haven’t paid for Renoise, yet, but I’m seriously considering it…

So, my question…

Do Trackers sound crunchy to you? I can’t quite explain, but to my ears Renoise, and other Trackers sound tighter and cleaner than regular DAWs? Is this a real thing, or maybe its just the type of music people tend to make on them?
I saw a video on Youtube with another Tracker user, and he described it as crunchy.

What do you think?

Welcome!

I do think people who use trackers tend to make a certain style of music, so it’s hard to say if what you hear is Renoise.

I don’t think I make that style of music, so see if this also sounds “crunchy”:

American Electronic | James Britt (bandcamp.com)

Small Guitar Pieces | James Britt (bandcamp.com)

I do use a lot of samples (either from acoustic instruments or hardware synths) but if it’s Renoise making things sound “crunchy” shouldn’t matter.

4 Likes

Renoise (or any other tracker) is some sort of „sampler on steroids“ while other daws came up with the sampler-stuff later on. Cubase was, as we all know, a sequencer without an own soundoutput but with great MIDI-functionality and when VST grew huge, the sampler-stuff still was not really important back in the days.

That might explain, why trackers do sound more crispy-clean when working with samples.