New here

Hey all, I’ve just discovered renoise and I’m pretty excited. I’ve been dabbling in electronic music since about 1980, started on a Commodore 64 :)

Anyway, I’m a dedicated Linux user and I have an older box at home, just for music. I installed AV-Linux (which is awesome BTW), normally I work on OpenSuse.

As a musician, I’m a pretty serious Sax player but I also play flute/guitar and bass and I’m planning on putting together a CD of electronic music with some acoustic instruments on top. I currently have my computer connected to my hardware DAW through the digital interface and next step is getting midi hooked. I have a midi keyboard and a few outboard synths, I think it will be a pretty capable system although it won’t be cutting edge but then neither is my Sax :)

I have been goofing around with Renoise 2.8 and I am 99.9% sure that I will be buying the proper version which is now at 3.0.

Question? Will I be seriously set back when I move to 3.0 after getting used to 2.8? Should I just go ahead and get 3.0?

Silly question I know, but I would appreciate some feedback.

Thanks,
Jeff

Hello and welcome!

There is quite a drastic difference between the GUI of Renoise 2.8 and 3.0.

I recommend checking out the demo for Renoise 3.0 before you get your self accustomed to 2.8 :P/>

edit

Also, all your songs you’ve been making in 2.8 will work just fine in 3.0 :)

OK cool, and thanks for responding.
I paid for and downloaded 3.0, I will install when I get home.

hello what music style do you do with your hardware and your sax it’s a quite surpising set up can you send me a link by pm or on the forum

ostro

ps:welcome