New Tool (3.2): Export To Unreal

renoise-unreal-tn
Export To Unreal

This might only be of use to me since I’ve been learning UE4 for a few years, but the new version of its audio engine has allowed me to experiment with using imported waveforms to control different aspects of a 3D object (or anything in the engine, really). I’ve started to incorporate Renoise song data as well and working on this tool will allow for even more control.

Description

Exports song data as a .json file to be imported into Unreal Engine 4 as a Data Table. Importing into UE4 requires a customised set of Structs to interpret the file contents into the Data Table format.

Unreal doesn’t allow the importing of .xml files, so songs can’t be loaded into it directly from an .xrns file. This tool extracts only the data that will be useful, though exactly what that is will change over time as this tool is developed.

9 Likes

I don’t have any use for this tool but I think it’s an awesome idea, good work!

2 Likes

I’ve been using renoise to control parameters in Unity for a while so I get where you’re coming from. Exporting renoise data in json could be useful for all sorts of things, great tool idea, thanks!

• Exports Note and Master FX column data from all standard tracks across all patterns.
• BPM, LPB and track names are stored in the base array.
• Current pattern length is stored in Patterns array.
• When data is found on a pattern line, the line number is stored in Lines array.
• The Note column number is stored in the Note Data array. Not essential for Master FX columns.

• Exports graphical automation.
• Exports Group, Send and Master tracks.
• Allowed blank patterns.
• Lines with data can have blank Note/MasterFX arrays.
• Nesting ‘Note Columns > Note Data’ was redundant. Moved old Note Data into old Note Columns array.

2 Likes

• Support for Pattern Sequencer and cloned patterns.
• Exports pattern names and section headers.