Novation Remote 25Sl ... What To Do!?

Hi everyone!

I have scored a Novation Remote 25SL cheapo off Ebay and I understand that it can be used as a keyboard for Renoise

Unofrtunately I got no software with it …

My question is, does anyone know what software I need and how do I get it to talk to Renoise!?

Many thanks for any and all advice to a total noob!!!

:)

Download and install the driver. It will show up in renoise.

I also have the Remote 25 SL.

The controller is a standard plug-n-play USB device, so on Windows (XP and higher) and Mac OS X you do not even need drivers to make it work. I have never bothered to install any drivers myself, and the controller has always worked perfectly in Renoise. The only thing you need to do is select the controller in Renoise’s MIDI preferences.

One small thing to be aware of: On Windows you must plug in and turn on the controller before you start Renoise.

Cool! Thanks so much DBlue!

Also, how do you go about getting all those fancy knobs and buttons to actually attach to something in Renoise?

I’m a total novice :-o

Simply click the ‘midi map’ button in the top right corner, click on the slider/button you’d like to control (in Renoise. You can see it gets highlighted.) and move the knob/fader/button you’d like to map it to on the 25SL. Click ‘midi map’ again to continue working.
Also if you dl and install Novations Automap-software, you can easily give each button/fader/knob a fitting name (that shows in the displays along with its’ values) as you go along mapping your 25SL. When done mapping save the setup along with your Renoise-file.

The ReMOTEs are fantastic controllers. They actually feel like proper instruments. :)

I’m also planning on getting the 25SL (or Nocturn 25, still haven’t decided).

I was wondering, for example about the Nocturn 25, will the keyboard still work if I use it via Duplex? The Nocturn map is only for the controller without the keyboard…