Osc Output

Hi,

Is there a way, either with Duplex or by modifying “GlobalOscActions.lua” in the “Scripts” folder, to output OSC (Open Sound Control) messages from Renoise?

I would like to trigger video events in Pure Data (or VDMX, Modul8 or any other OSC application that can do video) in sync with events played from my Renoise patterns. I was hoping this could be done in Renoise 2.6, but I do not see an obvious method for now.

Hi,

I don’t know if OSC messages can be sent from Renoise (I am a beginner).
It would be also useful in my case : I want to generate simple video game events (with PyGame library) according to the sounds played with Renoise.

Instead, I am trying to read Renoise midi output from my game (PyPortMidi library provided with PyGame) through Jack. Normally, you should be able to read Renoise midi output from PureData as well.

The answer is yes, renoise can send and receive OSC quite well, on par with everything else.
There is no easy way or ultimate method to explain how to do it,
except to review and familiarize yourself with anything and everything in the tec subforum and on http://code.google.com/p/xrnx/

Some docs to read:

Cheers.

Ok, I will check it out… doesn’t look too hard even for a lua newbie.

First of all, is there a specific forum for questions about scripting?

Ok, I read through the documentation and examples but I still have some questions.
What I want is to output the contents of the note and effect columns by OSC when they are read by the playback_pos.

Ideally, I would observe the playback_pos, read the line data with renoise.song().patterns[].tracks[].lines[] and output it with renoise.Osc.Bundle().

For this purpose, I checked renoise.song().transport.playback_pos but it is not observable.
Is this done on purpose to avoid overloading Renoise and creating glitches?

So the other solution is to use an on_idle() method, during which I would check if the playback_pos has changed and output the OSC bundles if so.