Paula, 6581 - Track 2 - Lightforce

Hey all,

Back in the dim dark ages of computing, I was a coder and musician on the C64 & Amiga demoscenes. Over time, I lost my collection of music I wrote on these platforms with the exception that a few people found. Here’s my C64 & Amiga profiles.

It’s been about 20 years since I’ve done much musically. That is , until last year when I got the idea of releasing an album of C64 remixes. This resulted in an album called “The 8bit Spindle”. It’s available in hard-copy or on Soundcloud.

I thought that this year I would do “The 16bit Spindle” and remix some of my favourite Amiga scores but there’s still many C64 tunes I wanted to have a go at. So this time around I’m doing an album inspired by both platforms. It’s going to be called “Paula, 6581”.

Needless to say, both albums have been done exclusively with Renoise. I wrote my own sound driver for the C64 but once I moved up to the Amiga, I started tracking. Renoise was a perfect fit for me! As a massive Unix user, I was thrilled to find that Renoise was SO cross-platform that I could stay in Ubuntu and use a DAW of awesome quality. Renoise is the most amazing software I’ve ever owned.

I’ve done eight tracks so far and I’ve finally got one of them through post-production. Here’s track 2 as a taster for what I am doing. I hope you enjoy it.

http://soundcloud.com/gavindi/paula-6581-track-2-lightforce

The music rings a bell, but titles are not getting from the backarchive of my long-term memory…
Which songs did you remixed?

Hi. It’s from the C64 game “Lightforce” with the original written by Rob Hubbard. Here’s a link to a youtube video with the original C64 score.

Nice! What vsti’s did you use (in particular how did you make those lush arpeggio chords?) ^_^