[Pending] KP3 Duplex Support

Hello everyone!
this is my first post and it is about duplex because I think it is one of the best tools avaiable for renoise.
I’m a beginner with renoise, not a noob but surely not a guru…
I own a kp3 and I use it often as a controller midi witch wich I can control 8 tracks like a mixer, and 8 sample pads (on-off signal). Then the rest is very useful to control some effects and other stuff.
I do all that with midi map, but I wander if there is a way to use the kp3 with duplex.

Can you give me a tip?

thanks and sorry for bad english!

Yes, you certainly can. BUT, someone/you has to program a duplex device for it.
I don’t know if it can sense the parameters of Renoise (e.g. track volume 1 is -10db and sets the KP3 to that value)

Sure, this seems to be possible. Most times, a MIDI device is more or less plug-and-play as long as you know the messages being sent back and forth.
However, I just checked, and the KP3 manual seems to refer to some mysterious “EXT CTRL” mode, a prerequisite for Duplex-style bi-directional communication.
But the actual details are located in a document that is provided with the CD?

So, if you could dig out that document and provide a link, we might be able to help you :slight_smile:

Here it is!
This is everything I found on the cd-rom that is some-how related to kp3 midi…you can find them following the sendspace link: http://www.sendspace.com/file/xcma8f

I attach here the pdf manual

thanks!

I read it and it seems to be a basic introduction to what the editor is capable of - you can change whether a pad sends CC or note messages, etc.

What isn’t really clear to me is how it responds to messages - so, I would suggest connecting the controller, open Renoise and start Duplex.
Then enable the “Dump MIDI to console” option in the Duplex menu and you should be able to tell which messages the device is sending*