Problem with Renoise and Xfer Serum's LFO modulation re-trigger

Hi

Problem:

• Create track with Serum
  • Modulate one of Serum’s parameter with in-build in Serum LFO modulators
  • Set LFO modulator in free running mode
  • Hit Play

Every time when play cursor caught end of the loop in Renoise LFO in Serum re-triggered but it shouldn’t work like this. Tested in Ableton Live and Bitwig - works like it should.

Best,
Andrey

A lot of times modwheel and pitch bend is, but, maybe (perhaps) this vst come pre-mapped to listen to midi start and stop? I think renoise sends these by default. Maybe not, though!

Set LFO modulator in free running mode

I’m still quite new to Serum, so maybe I missed something, but I don’t believe there’s actually a “true” free-running LFO mode.

As I understand it, the LFO does basically run “freely” when it’s set to “Off” mode, but its cycle/position is still always being synced to the underlying song time position sent by the host. (Presumably to ensure that you get the same expected results from the plugin each time you render your entire song.)

Here is a quote from Serum’s user guide:

LFO Mode (Trig / Env / Off) Allows you to select how the LFO behaves to new notes:
(…)
Off: Note on’s are essentially ignored, the LFO will run mindlessly on its own like an analogue LFO on a synthesizer would.
This is useful for creating a more free-form modulation which ignores new notes, and/or one which is always synced to your song’s time position.

Renoise is doing exactly what it should do: send the current song position to the plugin.

Serum is doing exactly what it should do: set the LFO cycle/position to sync up with the current song position.

When your Renoise pattern loops and wraps back to the beginning, then the song position will also wrap and follow along with it. Serum is responding to this, as expected.