Processor Usage?

Hi. Been trying out this awesome program a week now and i really like it so far. But loading a few VSTi Synth’s and a Couple of effects, I’ll see the CPU indicator hitting above 80% and some stuttering accuring. Even just using a couple of tracks. Opening Task Manager i can see that the The actual CPU usage is around 40% and not 80.

My laptop has:
Intel Core Duo T2500 2.0 Ghz, and should be able to handle a bit more than that. Using programs as Reason i can use pretty much unlimited numbers of samples, synths, effects etc and not hitting 50% processor usage.

I’m quite new to VSTi synths but do they really need that much power? and VST effects do they really use that much power as well?

Is there any multithreading support or is there any planned implementation?.. If not i really hope it is coming. I will switch from using reason and Renoise to only using Renoise.

/ Thanks

The cpu-usage measured in Renoise is on the audio-stack only and not the overall like the Taskmanager measures. Multithreading: no, Renoise unfortunately does not yet support multithreading (multicore) cpu’s.

“But loading a few VSTi Synth’s and a Couple of effects, I’ll see the CPU indicator hitting above 80% and some stuttering accuring.”

could you be more specific, how many & what plugins you’re trying to run?

For example, there is a freeware reverb plugin called ambiance that can be pretty hard hitting on the cpu. I think some music magazines even use(d) it to benchmark audio software / computers, by checking how many they can run at the same time on a system. Some reverb plugins are not that cpu hungry, so check different plugins to see if the problem persists. It could be one faulty plugin.

especially since:

“My laptop has: Intel Core Duo T2500 2.0 Ghz, and should be able to handle a bit more than that.”

have you checked / adjusted the latency settings of the soundcard?