Rate my resampling algorithm!

Hi everyone,

I’m Mark, casual Renoise user and one-time mod musician in the mid to late 1990’s (I went by the handle Arcturus - I was, at best, a footnote in the demoscene, and I’d be surprised if anybody remembered me - also there may have been more than one Arcturus). I’m now a professional software developer and I was feeling nostalgic, so I decided to try writing a mod player. Specifically, a player for 4-channel ProTracker mods - mostly just to see if I could do it. I decided to implement it in Kotlin running on the JVM, since that’s what I use a lot in my day job.

My goal is to get the player to play Space Debris correctly.

As you may be aware, the resampling algorithm is at the heart of any mod player. I was curious if my implementation is any good - it sounds fine so far, but I’m sure there’s probably a better way to do it. I’m posting this here to solicit feedback: What do you think of my implementation? Is there a better way to do it? Are there any obvious pitfalls? I don’t have a background in audio programming, but I know enough to get this far.

Anyway, here’s the repo: GitHub - mabersold/kotlin-protracker-demo: A JVM-based kotlin application that loads an Amiga Prot

Direct link to the resampler code: kotlin-protracker-demo/ChannelAudioGenerator.kt at main · mabersold/kotlin-protracker-demo · GitHub

Summary of the code organization:

model package contains the data classes to hold information about the song.
player package contains the class that actually sends the audio to the output device.
pcm package contains the classes that convert the song into a pcm audio stream. This is where the resampler lives.