Really Basic Help Needed

First hi everyone !

I’m new to renoise and I think i’m missing something with the pattern sequencing especially with effect.

I understand the effects commands but everytime I type something with my computer keyboard in the pattern effect section it skips to the next line so i’m force to go back up with the arrow and entering another letter or number and so on.

I doubt this is the way to edit pattern effects, i discovered the right clic method to insert a value, but for sample offset and somme other effects ( that i’m really interested in ) I cannot right clic anywhere.

anyone can help me ?

maybe i missed something in the tutorials, but after 3 hours of research i’ve decided to post :)

thx in advance

This is the way pretty much all trackers work. The cursor doesn’t (edit: I typed “does” at first, d’oh!) move from left to right as you type, like with a text editor for example. You can stop the pattern from moving down each time you type a letter/number, but you will still have to manually move the cursor left and right to reach the other values.

To stop the pattern from moving down each time you type you must set the Editstep to 0.
http://tutorials.renoise.com/?n=Renoise.EditStep

Personally I just leave editstep on 1 most of the time and perform the extra arrow key movements. You’re gonna be using the arrow keys a whole lot anyway, so one or two extra keypresses doesn’t make much difference to me.

You can build up a nice little rhythm while entering pattern commands too.

Type. Up. Right.
Type. Up. Right.
Type. Up. Right.
etc

This is all good training for the trackerninja :)

Kudos for your willingness to research first. ;)

Dblue explains things as they are, but you do make a valid point about a, to beginners, very illogical way of typing. At least from a text-editors point of view. I’m starting to think that a toggle-button for “editstep down” & “editstep right”, as that would make it simpler to enter fx commands & chords.