Really Stupid Question About Db Levels

i’m trying to understand how something works here and i’m having trouble grasping the concept or even finding any basic technical information on it…

sound is measured in decibels… which are rated according to magnitude. like ~30db is a whisper, ~60 is somebody talking, ~90 is somebody yelling, ~120 is a loud concert or a jet engine, etc. i think i understand that concept

but then why are sound recordings measured in NEGATIVE decibels? why? and what does that mean? what strange unit of measurement is this? what does it correlate to in the real world? what significance does the number 0 have to the limits peaking out? etc?

anybody see where i’m coming from? i mean i’ve been messing around with this shit for like 8 years but i still don’t really understand how it works. any help would be appreciated. links to guides or anything like that.

thanks!

:drummer:

actually dB is not a absolute measure… it shows how one figure relates to other…

i gotta run now… but will try to explain it later…

it’s measured in negative because this way there can be an easy reference point for distortion (zero), while the other values are based on a logarhytmic scale, meaning that the volume halves at each 3db of decay

log10(2) = 0.301 => 10^0.301 = 2

It also happened bacsuse of historical reasons: most preamps were built to have an output of 1V, which for some reason was roughly equated to 0dB.

It makes sense because in your preamp/premix it’s best to get all your sound right (with or without intended distortion) before you send it off to the slave amp (which could be your monitors or a PA). Many instruments need that preamp stage to bring them relative up to other instruments (like violyn, or a good condenser mic) - as It-Alien has said, everything is scaled up to that common point of 0dB.