Reason + Pro Tools + Rewire Rc1

Hi Guys,

This is my first post in this forum but I’ve been lurking for weeks now. I’ve been using Renoise since shortly before the beta testing began for 2.1. I am a Pro Tools and Reason user and I was delighted to find the addition of Rewire support in this release. For the most part other than some transport control issues everything seemed okay up until RC1 which I just installed and tested.

I’m using Pro Tools as my Rewire master and slaving Renoise and Reason. The sessions I had done previously under beta 4 are now unable to load both Renoise and Reason as slaves simultaneously. Renoise starts first and when Reason tries to start the Rewire Engine is unavailable to it… Big problem for me. Another issue I have seen is that if you allow Renoise to go past the Beta splash screen before all of your plugs are done loading in Pro Tools they will be unavailable for use in Pro Tools.

2 biggies for me I thought I should let you know about.

Hello joeljynx,

Regarding your first problem:

Have you already tried to reboot your system. Sometimes, after a ReWire master or slave has crashed or something else bad has happened, the ReWire subsystem can no longer start connect. A reboot usually cures this.

Also, does this only happen in the songs you’ve made with the older Renoise betas, or does this now also happen when stating a new simple project in Protools with just Renoise & Reason slaved?

Is this OSX or Windows you run Protools & Renoise on?

I’ve quickly tested running Renoise & Reason as slaves in Live, and this seems to work just fine here, so its at least no “common” problem. I will try to test this with Protools on Windows as well. Would be great if someone else here with Protools could help us testing this as well.

Regarding your second problem:

This sounds very strange. What kind of plugins are those? And what means “unavailable” exactly? That they are no longer found, or that they fail to start up in Protools?