Recording audio from vst straight into sample editor?

Could anyone help me record the audio coming out of an instrument into the sample editor? Trying to record some of my piano playing and then process it later from the sample/instrument editor.

At the moment I’m recording my playing into the pattern editor and then rendering to sample. However i’d like a slightly more organic approach if possible. Basically trying to emulate having a hardware synth but doing it with my midi controller and vst/sampled instruments!

If it’s of any help I have an Akai EIE audio interface and am using mac. I’m still a bit of a novice with audio routing unless its in renoise directly (sends etc)

Cheers!

1. Set up a send track, with audio routed OUT interface 3/4

2. Connect cables from OUT 3/4 to IN 3/4

3. Configure “record sample” window to record IN 3/4 - DO NOT MONITOR

4. Place send devices on any tracks you want to record, and send them to the send track from step 1. Keep the source so you can hear it while playing.

I haven’t tried this :slight_smile: So I don’t know if it’ll work. Worst case scenario is Renoise prevents you from playing notes while it’s recording… in which case you can use any old audio recorder to capture the signal coming off your IN 3/4, and then load that sample into renoise.

For those with the same wish on windows;

Could anyone help me record the audio coming out of an instrument into the sample editor?

Put this vst plugin on the particular track you’re recording in;http://anarchysoundsoftware.co.uk/anarchysoundsoftware/wp-content/uploads/2011/04/anarchyrecorder.zip

When installed in your vst directory & initialized in Renoise, open the gui and press record, do your keyboard magic and afterwards return to the plugin gui and press save to keep the recording.

I see anarchy effects has a new page now with mac versions of his main plugins, but I;m not sure recorder is in it(?);http://www.anarchy-rhythms.com/

Jack is my remedy for this on linux.