Renoise Feedback

Hi ! I’m back ! even if i’m back wearing the suit of the user instead of the developer, i need to say my ideas and feedbacks after using renoise 2.1 for real preparing new songs and livesets.

First my setup, gentoo linux with a realtime kernel with renoise slaved to my electribes (they are the master, renoise perfectly slaves patterns and follow tempo wonderfully), both midi controlled by a uc-16 external midi controller and a mackie vlz-16 mixer with some tracks and sends to some effects.

The good…

1. midi mtc and master / slave[ry] functioning of renoise

2. perfect timing (but i’m sure this is a realtime linux perfection)

3. surgery approach to music (i’m a developer after all and a old timer from the ages of pro-tracker and octamed on amiga)

4. sounds impressive and massive ! wonderful mixing !!!

5. good single window arrangement with multiple setups at a single keypress. what about midi learn on windowing setup changes ? (think when you are playing a liveset and focusing external machines and controllers for triggering but looking at the screen to visually understand which track or pattern or sound is playing !)

and the problems…

1. sometimes when you loop patterns from the song list and you change the current one when playing some notes get stuck… better to place a safeguard for that, at least when changing patterns manually there should be sme more note offs in the change, think notes ovrlapping the pattern edges.

2. the send device only accept 1 send. would be cool if this is embedded in the mixer strip, and let you select multiple send at once. Say i have a track i want to send to 4 send tracks. i need to add 4 devices. why not add only one and let you add multiple sends ? or even have the sends internally defined as track parameter ? it will save me a lot of time as i’m using lots of reverbs and parallel delays and distortion and gates on drums and sounds.