Renoise Gamepad Support

Advocating for native gamepad support in Renoise. Existing external methods have large drawbacks, while the ability to run Renoise on Raspberry Pi and Steam Deck makes the native solution highly desirable.

11 Likes

I’ve had good results via ReWASD, but it’s commercial software and only supports specific devices.

Native gamepad support would actually be amazing for things like being able to map an analog stick to a XY Pad device. I can also see mapping a filter cut-off to a trigger and riding the trigger for more natural filter sweeps and effects.

So yes, much yes.

I have a lot of experience with this using puredata, maxmsp and other apps like Virtuasonic MIJOY + more.
My experience is mostly in a Windows environment and there are some considerations with any of these methods and apps, and there have been breaking issues over the years that are at the OS and driver level.
Typical issues involve:

• DirectInput vs XInput
  • Older drivers for xb360 compatibility vs the newer xb1 drivers that affect how “games” vs “apps” detect the controller.
  • Window focus problems with the host, standalone app or vst affecting whether data streaming from the controller is received or blocked, seemingly pertaining to OS level issues where it thinks you wouldn’t want to send input to a “game” that isn’t focused.
  • Some combinations of controllers and drivers affect whether the triggers are a single unified control or two separate triggers
  • I can see with the Ocean Swift app it still requires downloading and installing older xb360 drivers to support it, which many users might not have the skill level to understand. Xbox Midi Controller – Ocean Swift Synthesis
  • The link to the old xb360 drivers is now dead.
  • A fix for window focus and xb1 controllers is here. Install at your own risk! xb1usb.11059.0.140526x64.msi https://www.reddit.com/r/buildapc/comments/lqb2x5/is_there_any_way_to_use_an_xbox_one_controller_on/