renoise not responding

i’m just getting started with renoise and it’s certainly an excellent program.

HOWEVER - In the course of trying things out - the program has been experiencing

a fault which results in the message ‘Renoise is not responding’ quite often and without

rhyme nor reason. If this is commonplace it’s going to be hopeless trying to compose

complex tracks without frustration and frequent re-starting of the program. Any suggestions

as to why this is and what to do about it would be much appreciated.

Hi

Is Renoise the version 3.1.0? Use you Linux, Windows…? Have you used any VST, VSTi?Maybe you should specify more details of your installation…

Personally, I have only managed to crash Renoise 3.1.0 64bit in Windows 10 in 3 situations:

1. Using “poorly written” tools.The cause is the tool.Solution, uninstall the tool (and notify the author).
  2. Using VSTi’s.The cause is the VSTi (or VST).Solution, uninstall the VSTi(and notify in the forums, to the Renoise Team).
  3. Some strange crash, very punctual, possibly some very hidden bug of Renoise. Solution,wait for a new version of Renoisemore stablein a far future, if you do not know what the error is.

Another cause may be some hardware malfunction, hard disk, memory…you can make a list of possible causes, and discard little by little.

Possibly you are in case 2, or a hardware problem. Renoise 3.1.0 is not perfect, but it is very stable.

To detect the problem, observe what happens immediately before the problem occurs.For example, does it fail when you load or use a VSTi?Does it always have the same fault with the same operation, or is it something random?If you detail when it fails, someone may be able to help you.

Can you describe your problem in detail?When Renoise fails, it usually saves a log file with the problem/problems. The most common thing is to share it.

(C:\Users\MY_NAME_USER\AppData\Roaming\Renoise\V3.1.0\log.txt)

Hi