Renoise, Once Again Saving My Life

Hey,

I’ve been using Renoise for almost four years now and it’s the first tracker I’ve ever used… It turns out that I started using Renoise right when I got more serious about composing music. Its effective way to turn ideas into a concrete song in short delays quickly became a standard to me. About a year ago I started getting into Ableton Live and over the months, it became my principal DAW mostly because it allowed me more flexibility in terms of live performance… I also tried composing in it.

Today I realize how in all those months trying to use ableton I couldn’t achieve much. I did however build a quite interesting set that allows me to jam with a computer almost like it was an instrument, however no matter how awesome my jams are, I can barely make tracks with them, chopping those recordings seemed too much work…

I don’t know why but when this stuff is in Renoise, I can do whatever I want with it… it just feels like everything falls at its right place. I know it’s not that I don’t know what I’m doing in Live because I now know Live almost as much as I know Renoise. It’s because renoise offers you the tools in a way that encourages creativity, at least for me.

I’m done wasting my time, now I know that if I want to compose a track, it’s Renoise that I’ll launch, nothing else.

Thanks

Where’s the part where your life was in danger, though?

Was it the drugs?

Not being able to properly compose track is a life threatening danger.

It was probably the women… It’s always the women… <_<

I’m experiencing the exact same thing. Live just seems to miss a lot at the basis of sample manipulation. Things you can do in Renoise within 30 seconds take so much longer in Live (if they CAN be done)… I wuvv Renoise too. :wub: