Renoise Problem On Ubuntu

I bought myself a Toshiba satellite A200-238 notebook and installed the latest Ubuntu.

Renoise installs fine, but playing back even the simplest demo-song, results in hick-ups that make it unusable…

i’m pretty sure the problem can be attributed to the (shitty) inboard audiocard and this ALSA driver business.

usually i find my way around by just googling, but this time it doesn’t seem to be that simple.

i think my card uses the Realtek ALC268 Codec (if i remember correctly) but that’s about all the info i have

:unsure:

as i’m new to notebooks and linux for that matter, i hope i don’t need to buy an external audiocard just to get my fingers rolling out some beats?

try installing the realtime kernel:

sudo apt-get install linux-rt

at next startup, you should be able to run using the linux-2.somenumbers-rt.

let us know if it gets better

ah, thx will try this. i read somewhere tis was already standard supported in Ubuntu 8…
also running renoise as root, i was able to have this realtime thread running, but it didn’t change anything noticeable…

even more, by messing around too much i just completely destroyed this ‘alsa’ business… so i’m thinking of just doing a reinstall of ubuntu… and then doing what you just suggested…

for all i know, this is all i can get with this ALC268 soundcard… :(

I’m not a good adviser for Ubuntu because I’m very newbie about Linux. :unsure:
But I installed Ubuntu Studio 8.04 and Realtek ACL 268 is same as mine.

Strangely, when I choose ALSA in Renoise, it is not good performance too.
But when I choose Jack (setting by QjackCtl), it improves well. Though I cannot understand why it is…
So maybe it is worth trying Jack control.

Satobox is right: using JACK as a sound server may help. I have ran Renoise under Ubuntu for the first time on my new laptop today and have experienced the same problems you have.

to check out what card you have, run the following command from a terminal:

cat /proc/asound/cards