Require more bass from speaker setup

Hey guys,

I’m currently browsing a few topics on the thread on speaker setups so if I find out appropriate information I’ll let the thread die :) I own a pair of Mackie MR5 MK2 active monitors and, while they sound superb, they emit nowhere near enough bass. I’m not a fantastic producer, engineer, mixer or masterer but have been offered a release on one of my all-time favourite net labels (not for my ambient ‘Ardeer’ music). So basically, I want my music to be on top form - I want to have the best quality sound possible; something that will translate well to any set of speakers. Currently however, I am finding that artists producing similar music get more bass out of their music and I don’t want my music to seem lacking in a professional quality on the release.

I’m a 19 year old student with limited funds so whatever I do here has to cheap. So, while this may sound like a novice question, I want to know - should I invest in a cheap-ass subwoofer to accompany my monitor setup or should I just continually listen to (and compare with) music similar to that which I produce and hope for the best? I’m also looking at getting a set of second-hand hi-fi speakers (possibly with a sub) so that I can hear my music as the general listening audience would hear it. There are a few decent looking ones near my area (Glasgow, Scotland) on Gumtree within my price range I’m looking into.

This whole post may sound a little silly and confused but I am overly excited by this release (purely made with Renoise by the way) and any advice on how to improve the sound I am currently getting would be much appreciated :P One final issue I should point out is that I use as my audio interface a Focusrite 2i2 and it only has one stereo output. I am aware that this may pose a colossal problem if I am required to connect additional speakers.

Cheers in advance for any advice that can be given.