Revisiting Resynth/Native Synthesis

I’m no programmer but I’m damn sure a script kitty. VERY basic c++, python and because of Renoise,lua knowledge.

I’m interested in input from you guys and I would like to know what theoretically could be done to get some form of Native synthesis within Renoise. What’s possible? The old tool Resynth had some bugs but came pretty close to something solid. Even being able to save your stuff as xrni instruments.

This is solely for informational purposes as of now, but a goal of mine is to have my hand in bringing forth some form of modular synthesis i.e Phase Plant to Renoise

2 Likes

It is possible to start with a 1 sample length pulse wave, then filter from there, to create saw’s and sine’s, much like hardware. Can also use simple single cycle waveshapes; some examples:

2_Osc_Monosynth_1.xrni (3.3 KB)
Wave Folder Sine.xrni (3.4 KB)

Probably, much more is possible, i’m for one glad you’re asking, so thanks for that; and hth.

2 Likes

Just as reference (in Renoise+API).

From the API with Lua, for the Sampler/Waveform, it is possible to destroy and rebuild an audio wave, that is, its buffer, (mono or stereo), changing its number of frames and its quality (Sample rate, Bit depth), or change the amplitude of your frames without having to destroy your buffer (this is processed much faster!).

As long as it doesn’t involve destroying and rebuilding the entire buffer, the results are virtually instantaneous on samples of short duration (1-15 seconds).

Destroying and rebuilding the buffer does not imply deleting the containing sample (the sample saves several associated parameters). Therefore, for certain uses it would be possible to use “real-time” Lua tools (note that it is in quotes).

There are already several Lua tools that deal with synthesis. But most can process very large buffers, giving the sensation of slowness, when they may be processing millions of frames.