Scripting A Synth Controller (With Duplex)

I’m fairly new to scripting for Renoise but not that new to scripting. So I was having a shot at scripting a synth controller via Duplex so that I wouldn’t need to touch the synth anymore and create a better workflow. I have skimmed through a bunch of readme files but did not find my questions adressed so I was hoping you guys could be of some help.

A bunch of questions:

- Wouldn’t it be functional to make a duplex device available in the Renoise effects device chain?
This would make it possible to automate the duplex device (and thus the synth). In a sense this would allow one to make native ‘vst’-controllers for your own synth. The midi CC-controller device is insufficient as it does not allow all the synth parameters to be included in one device which is annoying.

- What application type do I need to create (e.g. mixer/effect) to create a duplex application which sole purpose is to communicate with the synth (and vice-versa) and not Renoise itself?
I don’t want the duplex application to affect track volumes or settings. I just want it to control the synth and I want to see hands-on changes on the synth back in the controller application. This already works when the application type is ‘Mixer’ but this unfortunately affects track settings in Renoise which is unwanted. Setting the application type to ‘Effect’ stops all effective communication between the synth and my premature duplex application.

Which synth? I started making a Virus B controller in Duplex (with some success, it has to be said), but it was a dirty hack and Duplex really isn’t the right tool for the job.