Select instrument

Hello. I am new to this and wondering if there is any way to select the instrument that I want. I have read the API but it is still not clear to me.

Another question I have is if there is a function that tells me how many phrases there are in total for each instrument, I know that there is a function that does this for tracks.

Thank you

Hi @Xavi

For instrument index:
renoise.song().selected_instrument_index, _observable
  -> [number]
For Terminal:
print(renoise.song().selected_instrument_index)
--return the selected instrument index (range 1 to 254), start with 1.
--255 to clear the .instrument_value

Use the containing tables of phrases. # returns the number of items:

For instrument index: i:
#renoise.song().instruments[i].phrases
  -> [number]
or most suitable (faster):
#renoise.song():instrument(i).phrases
  -> [number]

For selected instrument:
#renoise.song().selected_instrument.phrases
  -> [number]
For Terminal:
print(#renoise.song().selected_instrument.phrases)
--range of phrases 0 to 126.

Hello @Raul

Thank you very much for your answer. You have solved my second question.

But the first one is not yet clear to me. What I want to do is get a function that selects a specific instrument.

I don’t know if its related but what does this function do? or what can I do with it?

– Access to a single instrument by index. Use properties ‘instruments’ to iterate
– over all instruments and to query the instrument count.
renoise.song():instrument(index)
→ [renoise.Instrument object]

renoise.song().selected_instrument_index = 3

This code select the instrument with index 3.

print(renoise.song().selected_instrument_index)

This code return the index of the current instrument.

Example:

local function sel_ins(idx)
  renoise.song().selected_instrument_index = idx
  --see inside the terminal
  print("The current instrument is:", renoise.song().selected_instrument_index)
end
--bang!
sel_ins(3)

amazing! Thank you @Raul