Share your No1 advice about music making

Another interesting topic I think.Share here you No1 advice about music making.It can be anything,your mind set or something like finding inspiration etc.

My No1 advice.Work every day on it,doesn’t matter how much time but do it every day so it becomes second nature.This is a must for anything you want to achieve in life not just music

6 Likes

Agree, Every time I force myself to do a little work on something I end up getting hours of work done. You have to force the motivation sometimes

2 Likes

Be an open book; be willing to learn and apply your knowledge; make mistakes and learn from them. We’re all humans and what matters is we all start from somewhere and take strides to reach to the point where we are today and seek for tomorrow.

2 Likes

Finishing stuff is important. It is a lesson I’m still learning. Committing to ideas and wrapping them up. Even though they aren’t perfect yet. Cause they’ll never be.

Accept that. Make it the best you can within a reasonable time. And move one to the next one.

And yes, work on it every day.

5 Likes

My favorite advice (from another forum):

5 Likes

My tip for newcomers. Don’t become impatient when your results aren’t what you imagined. Just keep learning, keep working, keep practising. You results will become better one day, if you stay with working and don’t slack too much or give up too early. That is a rule of human skills - at first they will be totally frustratingly subpar, but if you excercise them well, they can grow into very capable skills. That is true for almost every skill, even those that their bearers are not especially talented at. Those just need more work and patience to shine. Even if your results are shit at first, if you love music, just keep learning and trying, maybe one day your skills will have grown into a pro level.

4 Likes

Don’t fuck around too much. Attention and focus are finite resources.

7 Likes