short glitch track - op-1

getting back to playing live electronic music on the op-1. Here’s a short bombastic-sounding glitch track:

https://soundcloud.com/rvxi/interlude-march

(I keep forgetting how to get the embedded cloud player to work on this board…)

Very interesting. Was that the same drum loop/pattern playing the whole time with the reverb and glitches randomly added? How much sequencing can you do on the OP-1? I’ve always been curious about that. I get the feeling that everything on it is 90% live, right?

Beautiful track, i like it very much.
Could you explain a little bit how did you compose it?
I’m very interested in making glitch, but i’m not that good at. :unsure:

thanks guys

yeah the OP-1 very much rewards live playing. The sequencers are better thought of as programmable arpeggiators rather than modern sequencers. You can do a lot with them if you’re good (look how far people have pushed X0X sequencers), but they’re very constrained. You can get more mileage if you’re comfortable with live playing. The mic and sound-on-sound style recording also encourages with integration with live instrumentation. For example, in my other 2 op-1 tracks (tracks 1 & 3 w/ vocals, violins, guitars, uke, etc):

https://soundcloud.com/rvxi/sets/portable-music-environments-op

You learn to take timing much more seriously when you try to write music on this thing. My timing still isn’t great, and it takes practice, but I find forcing you to approach music like this produces different results than I’d get in an environment where quantizing and nudging is easier to do. Everything slips off the grid and there’s much more of a rhythmic pocket, even if you’re a mediocre live musician.