Should I Buy Renoise?

Hey all,

I’m a DJ with a budding passion for music, but i have no way of expressing myself musically other than on the decks.

I would love to be able to produce tracks and have something to call my own. But i dont really have any musical engineering knowledge.

Someone pointed me in the direction of “Renoise” and ive heard some of the tracks that have been made using this program and they blow me away!.

Now, would i be able to pick Renoise up?, i have no knowledge what so ever?. But im very interested in using this, Ive tried Cubase and Fruity Loops but i just end up sitting there scratching my head since i have no idea where to start.

But im hoping the community here is easy on beginners!

Thanks for taking the time to read, I look forward to your reply

-Wayne

Yes, the community is easy on beginners (although browsing the docs or using the search function sometimes can’t hurt).

No, you should not buy Renoise.

You should download the demo (which is unrestricted except rendering to .wav), get hopelessly addicted, and and then buy it :)

Short answer: Yes, buy Renoise.

Long answer: The free demo is more than adequate (if not identical to the registered version) for learning how to make music . Download it, make a sincere effort to read the Tutorials Wiki and the In:Depth Zine, make a sincere effort to learn on your own by downloading beatbattle XRNS tracks and studying them. Ask questions when you are truly stumped as the community is one of Renoise’s advantages. Basically, buying Renoise is a sign of respect. It’s not expensive, it is worth the price, it can be used as a full production tool or just as a part of a bigger production paradim, and we don’t want it to disapear so we support it. You should too.

Cheers.

I bought it so I could render .wav’s, to express my respect I’m considering a sex change in order to bear taktik’s children.

But that’s not strictly necessary of course.