Solo Renoisers

Anybody else here find yourself solely using renoise with no VSTs or external programs? I try to do everything in renoise. Anybody else?

Yes, It mostly happened when I got better at tracking(memorizing effects, knowing what commands actually do). I also always got annoyed at having to move between vsts and native dsps to set levels, way easier for me just to use samples and native dsps. All of the great old, and new tools also makes it a pleasure, custom wave tool ftw.

95% of what I do in Renoise is pure internal. Tried using some VST’s on a couple of… projects, but I think I’m too old-school to be using any external input.

Feels like cheating… ;)

I’m new to Renoise and did my first track yesterday. I found that I could quickly get a chipsound I wanted with unknown64 VST but that the limitations inherent with using a VST slowed me down, kind of making it a wash. For the simpler sounds I wanted I just used generated waveforms and DSPs and accomplished much the same, and then got the advantages of samples… I was planning on experimenting with the plugin grabber a bit to see how useful that is.

How is that cheating?
Some may say that samples are cheating because there are no real instruments. ;)

But seriously… I couldn’t live without vst(i)'s. Samples are too “destructive” for my taste.
I may make all vst(i)'s into renoise instrumets in final track but vst(i)'s are important while writing music and creating sounds.

Renoise internal fx are mostly nice but some things are just faster to do with vst’s, like multichannel compression.

i try to keep it as much i can with renoise only , when i use vst it’s usually free like Tal bassline and Tal dub2

I used to do everything purely in Renoise but now there are a few external tools I simply cannot live without. It all depends on what tools you feel the most comfortably working with really. Whatever that gives you the most control over expressing what you want to express.

No chance.