[Solved] Renoise As Rewire Master Problem

Hi!

I’ve been using Renoise for a couple of years, and recently discovered the bliss of Rewire. Yesterday I configured a song with Renoise as master and Reaper as slave with some vocal tracks. This was all fine and dandy, and I was immensly happy with this arrangement.

However, today after a computer reboot, Renoise no longer detects Reaper as a Rewire device. I have taken care to start Renoise first as the only Rewire device, which should automatically make Renoise the master. Even after I start Reaper and add a new Rewire metadevice, Renoise will still not detect it.

Any ideas what I’m doing wrong?

Edit: also, if I now try to start Reaper as Rewire slave (with Renoise already running), I get this:

Edit 2: I reinstalled Renoise, and now Rewire seems to work properly again. Is it fair to assume I will encounter this problem again? :)

I’m having a similar problem. REAPER=Master, RENOISE=Slave.

RENOISE doesn’t appear in REAPER’s list of ReWire devices. With REAPER running, when I try to launch RENOISE, the latter gives me an error message saying it couldn’t initialize ReWire. Then it crashes. Sloppy.

I’ve tried uninstalling and re-installing RENOISE from scratch, without success.

I’m on Windows 7 64-bit, with a 9-month old Sony laptop, admittedly not optimized for music, with 4 GB RAM, processor U7300 1.3 GHz (2 cores).

RENOISE 2.5 didn’t have this problem, and I have REAPER v3.6, 32-bit. DON’T TELL ME TO UPGRADE that other program, I’m sure it’s a RENOISE problem.

Thank you.

Renoise is 32-bit… i don’t know if you use the 32-bit version of Reaper, but i can at least confirm that i can’t use Renoise and 64-bit version of Reaper in any ReWire configuration (Master or slave). I however highly suspect this is a bit architecture problem (You can’t communicate 64-bit language to apps that can only translate 32-bit of it)