Sound Quality

What is this general consensus of the renoise eq…I read that one should use really good ones…I find it works fine, yet I am quite new at programming electronic music so maybe I don’t know. I also compare my music to house tracks I like and I notice the kick drums, percussion sound tighter…not in terms of rhythm but in terms of sound…I don’t know how to describe it…the kicks sound a little shorter…maybe it sounds more compressed…I don’t know…just a little better…not much but it has that something extra. I am using the 909 renoise kit, should I use other samples or process my beats in a certain way? Forgive my extensive use of full stops as I am just typing as it comes. Thx for any insight.

Actually it has nothing to do with EQ-s quality but ability to use different effects such as EQs, compressors, distortions, tube amps, filters etc, etc. With these things you have to “shape” the sound that you desire out of your dry sample.

You cant just load dry 909 kick into track and expect it to sound like in some house tune.

I dont know what do you exactly mean by “tightness” but if you are after that smacking type of sound then here is a small example The first kick is unprocessed dry sample and the second one is the same sample, but with some effects applied to it.

what i did is that i put it through tube amp plugin, EQ-d it little bit (cut extreme lows and boostet little of mid range) and compressed just a little.

Actually tube amps are my “secret weapon” :) when i want to make smacky tight kick out of dull dry 909 or similar kick.

The Renoise EQ’s are OK-ish, but not the best you can get. I currently like the EQ’s by DDMF.