Starter Keyboard

Hey, Renoisers!

How to say… I’m no musician really - can’t read sheets, can’t really recognize notes I hear. But I have that music thing close since I was a kid. I even took piano lessons then, but then it all fell apart somehow. I’ve done many musical fumblings since then, lately some for SDCompo even, should you want to check. I have chosen to invest into getting a decent starter keyboard to play around more.

I believe that, except for some Mozarts, everyone was a newb one day and didn’t start with Nord, Kawai or Steinway Grands.
Look at the country I’m from. If anything, it means that I’m pretty much forced to like what I can get. Not that I need much, some starter Yamahas here seem to be highly recommended on the “Internets”.

I’ve finally decided to post up here. I trust that fellow Renoisers, a pretty interesting community I’ve been silently following for quite some time, could give me some great advice in this matter. :)

Are you looking for a synthesizer or a midi keyboard/controller?

Doesn’t matter what you’ve got…but how you use it. Don’t mean to be harsh but get something and start working out simple melodies and rhythms. Harmonica, melodica, recorder, guitar, piano

…but you need to learn to translate what is in your head…and that takes practise not a Nord etc

Exactly the thing I haven’t decided. I’m more inclined towards a synth, so I can just turn it on and play (with it), without hooking up to PC and DAW. Also, it would ease up learning all the stuff again. But that costs.
Do I need weighted keys? I have been toying with a couple of simple keyboards without any kind of velocity controls and I didn’t like the feeling. But that piano feeling costs, too. If it’s possible to recreate that at all, given the price.
How many keys do I need?
I suppose I need to take a day and find some musical instrument shop to take a look, probably try some.

I agree. Then again, a tool that fits the hand is easier to work with.