Statistics of which VSTs used in songs?

Hello. I’ve been using Renoise for about 15 years with various computer setups - and naturally a wide variety of plugins - over those years. Usually the thing that happens on a new OS-installation when opening a song is that Renoise will tell me that this/that VST instrument/effect is missing.

I’m curious if there is a tool (inside Renoise or not) that can scan a folder of xrns-files and provide statistics of used VST-instruments and -effects, like:

• which ones are used the most,
  • which ones were used over what period of time?

Given the openness of the .xrns filestructure I’m sure it’s technically possible to extract the data (although I even have a few .rns, though in much fewer numbers). No idea what would be the best way to present the data though.

I’m probably not alone when it comes to the hassle of haphazardly installing plugins, but not really remembering exactly which plugins I did use more than others. It would be cool to see actual statistics on what I used. :slight_smile:

zgrep might be helpful, perhaps something like:

zgrep -i ‘vst’ ./*.xnrs

Or substitute the ‘vst’ search term with the folder
name you use to store your vst’s.

Hth…

Thanks Jek, that set me into the right direction. :slight_smile: I played around a bit and was able to get a top-list of the plugins I’ve used the most. I know this could probably be done much more neatly, but if anyone else is interested, my small process:

find “./” -type f -name “*.xrns” | while read fname; do zgrep -i ‘PluginDisplayName’ “$fname”; done > plugins.txt

Search recursively for .xrns-files and pipes each into zgrep that greps each line with PluginDisplayName and saves into plugins.txt

sed ‘s/^ *//g’ < plugins.txt | sed ‘s/Vst:/VST:/g’ > plugins2.txt

Removes leading spaces in each line and changes Vst: to VST: (a few of my .xrns had this variant, which affected the sorting later).

cat plugins2.txt | sort | uniq -c | sort -rn > plugins3.txt