That Fat Drum Beat Sound

I’ve been using Renoise for a few months now and it’s been utterly fantastic. First time I’ve ever used anything to make electronic music, and I’m starting to get my bearings, and all is almost well.

The one thing that bothers me is how my drum beats sound. Primarily I’m interested in making Dubstep, Drum and Bass and Breakcore-ish tunes, and at the moment I’m using the Drumatic, or various breakbeat samples which I’ve found scattered around the internet. With the samples, it’s not so bad, but when I make my own beats, it seems that no matter what I do, I am unable to get that crunchy, gravelly noise, specifically out of the snares and cymbals.

I’ve asked my producer mates about it, and they always say I need to get into layering the various parts. I can’t really get an explanation out of them as to how to do this- I just understand it as having them fit in against one another. As in, let’s say, having a kick playing in time with a breakbeat sample in order to make it punchier.

Another thing I was told was to try resampling, but I suppose what I’m really asking is where I can find some online tutorials to hold my hand through the basic idea of it a few times. Apologies if it’s already on here somewhere.

They way I do it often:

put every sound (snare, hihat, base, etc)
in different tracks twice

Let’s take the snare for example.

you have 2 snare tracks
keep one clean, and put a lot of heavy compressing on the second one. and a tiny bit reverb after the compressor in your track dsp.

the compressed sound makes the snare dirty and the clean keeps the transient oke.
try to work out the right balance between those two so that it seems one massive snare!

this is just one way. The easyest way is still: search for massive drumsamples on the internet ;)

The more I produce drums, the more I find that having a good solid fat drum sample to start with, the easier it is to make it sound even fatter and nastier.