The Mystic of Loudness in Electronic Music.

So after reading a few articles about Loudness-War between Studios, im not really sure if i should care the psychological effect on this or not.

After comparing my Tune with others on Soundcloud i realized they are much louder then mine and - i have to admit - clearer / better / fatter.

I found myself jealous about this fact. After tweaking my Samples / Instruments i still realize, i will never come up even near those output levels.

Since im aware they’re cooking also only with water, i was wondering how they do it ?

Do i need it that badly ? Nope

But - ffs - it sounds somehow FATTER and i wanna have that too.

This is a big subject and there’s probably no “real” answer. I’m not an expert myself. Its about mixing, listening enviroment, choice of sounds and mastering. This is what makes the difference between an amateur and a professional in my opinion. I dont know if you are asking for some adviced but when it comes to this i would recommend you check out gearslutz.com’s message board. I mean, its probably one of, if not the “greatest” question when it comes to mixing today. At least in electronic music.

What i’ve learned is that if you mix the tune well, using eq wisely and make all the sounds “fit” in the mix then alot of the work is done. If its good staring material then you can probably make it “louder” later… If thats what you want…

Good luck!

I wouldn’t use random songs from soundclound as a reference, many people just overlimit their tunes to make it louder, which is not the best practice either.
also, don’t compare your unmastered songs to mastered releases, that would be just unfair.

just cut the bottom and and use compressors to bring up individual sounds, and adjust the levels that they sound nice together. that’s all I do. leave other tweaking and making it sound louder to mastering.

if the tune sucks, it wont be any better no matter how loud it sounds, and vice versa.