Tips On Finishing Tracks?

I bought Renoise a couple of months ago after fiddling with the demo for some time. The software is amazing and I don’t regret one cent of my purchase. I’m having a problem though: I’ve started countless of tracks only to end up abandoning them. It’s like I’m intensely motivated, make the beginning along with a defining melody piece, drums and the works. After that: Nothing. I never finish my tracks. I refuse to believe I’m the only one with this problem so here I am, asking this question(s):

What can I do to finish my damn songs?

How do you folks structure your creative process?

Is it too aggressive to program all the instruments from the beginning?

Anyway, I’m still learning the software and I enjoy it. I just hope I get those darned tracks done.

hey, I totally know what you’re talking about. I struggled with the finishing-process for years until it started to loosen up.

However, for me there are many ways to get me going on the arrangement process;

• one tip could be to dedicate an evening solely to arrangement. ignore mixing, sounds, details and all that stuff,
    and just force yourself to lay out a bunch of variations of the patterns, use the “cue play” pattern function to jump back and forth during playback to see what goes well together. Make 2-3 different arrangements of the same song, render down, rest your head for a couple of days, and then listen to these different arrangements, maybe on your iPod/mobile, away from the studio, and then you’ll more clearly realise what arrangement is the best, and what you need to work with. Make a list of everything you need to change, and go back and proceed. This works very well for me.

• another tip, if you have only a one-pattern project (that kicks ass)… use the pattern matrix view, clone so the song extends to 3+ minutes,
    and go bananas with muting/soloing/shuffling around all the clips. This will probably give you and immediate idea of direction and possibilites.