[tool idea] Polyphonic free running LFOs

I’d love to be able to have free running (polyphonic) LFOs in an instrument that allow me to hear the results while I’m composing and live playing/performing. On my knees begging in 2023 for a tool that does this quickly and simply. Mind is still blown this is not a box you can click on/off on LFOs.

To create organic movement within a single track (instrument) and between tracks (multiple instruments) I don’t feel there is a better way, and for the creative process to flow freely the solution needs to be pretty fast/simple.

Deepest apologies if this exists, cannot find a solution. thx! -e

Have you just tried cardinal by any chance? Seems like this would probably work if Renoise can listen for modulation signals (this works in other DAWs, btw).

Will have to investigate this one personally as I’m fairly new to Renoise (as of earlier this year). Also I wouldn’t be surprised at the notion of just using separate FX chains to accomplish something very similar to this

yes, this should be added, for sure
free running lfos are easy in the fx section, and doable in instrument modulation as well, but afaik we don’t have a way to do it polyphonically…

Tool would be okay, but perhaps this helps in the meantime?

LFO into hydra can control lots and lots of stuff; even instrument macros:

they are? I don’t know how to set up a free running lfo for an instrument in mono. they automatically reset with a new note.

Think you pointed at the wrong quote. Were you asking about fx or mod section?

thank you for the screen shots,

can the results from using a hydra create a polyphonic LFO?

Is Cardinal the free modular synth plug? If so i’ve never tried it. I would guess it could be difficult to get renoise to listen polyphonically but i’m not very technically minded. Also pretty new to renoise less than a year in.

1 Like

Yep, you can control as many instruments, in as many tracks, or note columns, as you desire; all at the same time.