Tracking Live Instruments

Hello Everyone,

I just found out about renoise and have looked up as much info as I can find online about what I can do with it. Some of the posts date back a few years ago and it is possible that the answer to my question is already on here somewhere but I figured it wouldn’t hurt to post something. I am pretty new to computer recording. I always used hardware digital 8track, 16 tracks etc… So far using recording software and all that has been pretty amazing…most with a steep learning curve but for the potential it seems worth it.

First I apologize if I don’t phrase things correctly. I am not trying to make anyone angry or irritated with my ignorance about most of the computer based recordng technology.

Is it possible to track live instruments, guitar, bass,etc… into renoise? I currently use Maschine and Pro Tools. Well I should say I use Maschine and Pro Tools has been nothing but a hassle so far. Does Renoise work like Maschine where you create samples of live instruments and then arrange them in scenes? Is Renoise anything like Pro Tools where you play directly along with tracks in a virtual studio?

From the you tube videos I have watched, obviously it looks as though Renoise is only for midi and electronic/sample based music. Which is not a bad thing. I would hope someone could clear that up for me.

Can I do more with Renoise other than sample or midi instrument based music creation?

Thanks in advance.

In major, Renoise is sample/midi based, but that doesn’t mean you can’t add live elements into your act. Renoise has a Line-in device at which you can attach any input source that you can connect or play an instrument to or even sing. Behind this line input device, you can insert other effects that you throughout can control using automation and even toggle effects on/off without you having to manually do this like you would have to do with footpedal effects.