Transitions

Hi, I’m lazi.

Previously I solely used Reason/Recycle to lay down the base of my tracks and then follow up in Cubase to chop stuff up. However, Renoise looks like it has so much more control - especially for beat slicing, which I want. However, I’m totally new to this style of production - how long does it take to come to grips with this program? I’d also like to ask what sort of VST’s work well with Renoise - would Kontakt be a good investment?
I’m a huge fan of Venetian Snares and the breakcore sort of style, if this helps get an idea of what I’ll be trying to do with Renoise.

Any information would be greatly appreciated!

-lazi

Word.

Word is not a VST ;)

Yes, Kontakt works very well in Renoise, though I don’t know if it would fit your needs, as I don’t know anything about Venetian Snares’ music (really!!! Yes, really…)

It has scripting capabilities, advanced memory manangement, multilayering and lot more.

However, as some videos seem to demonstrate, for what VSnares do, Renoise only is enough

Thanks It-Alien for your input - and for not being pretentious!

I’ll definitely check that out on youtube, and try out kontak with renoise after I become a little more comfortable with the renoise interface. Cheers

IR TEH PRETENTIOUS FORUM POSTER!! I WILL SHATTER YOUR DREAMS WITH HOLLOW WORDS AND EMPTY SENTIMENTS!!! FJEEEEER MEEEE!!!

Seriously though, there are many posts on these forums to do with creating breakcore and chopping beats. Please learn to use the Search function ;)

… and I am in no way trying to be pretentious, I just don’t feel like reposting stale information in this redundant thread ;)

just give it a few solid months of your complete attention. (yes all night after work tell your gf to deal with it)…
renoise is my 1st tracker… I’ve been making EM for about 10years now and I only discovered trackers last year. I feel so f****ing ripped off. I even had an amiga! (but i was like 10 yrs old???)
f cubase
f flootyroops
f reason
<3 reaktor