Trying To Learn New Genre Of Music.

i come from a hip hop background and was wondering if renoise is good for that. i mean i am trying to create new types of music. not just hip hop stuff but i do not really know where to begin. i use reason and fl studio but i really like renoise. messed around with the demo and bought it so i am registered. i checked out the demo songs and i am like holy s@#$t that is awesome. how and the hell do they do that. there are many things in renoise i do not understand but am willing to learn. i have looked in these forums and there are a lot of experts here it seems which is a good thing. how would a guy like me begin to learn these different styles of music. are there books on it or do i have to become one some how with a genre i am not familiar with. i hope i dont sound stupid. sorry if i do. i will be hanging out here a lot from now on. have to learn this program. :D

during my 15-years “career” as an hobbyist composer I have composed songs of several genres. To name a few (in a sort of chronological order from earlier):

odd-tempo dance music,
dark ambient,
experimental electronica,
progressive rock,
jazz rock,
jazz,
orchestral.

I have near no theory knowledge, but I have some experience.

from my point of view of a self-made guy (I’m a self taught programmer and I do it for work, but I’m also an hobbyist drummer, bass player, composer, and some other hobbies I practice are all self taught), my advice is to listen to more genres; even if you simply listen to Renoise’s demosongs, you will be able to explore some very different approaches to music. I would not find interesting to focus on a single kind of music; if you can do this as an hobby an nobody forces you to release a “product”, in my opinion the best experience you can have with music is exploring new frontiers.

resuming: get a last.fm account and listen :)