UI/Grouping: Is there a way to group tracks+sends?

Hello,

I’m new to Renoise. I come from Ableton, and one thing I enjoy doing is taking a sample, routing it to an audio track and using the Post FX channel to add effects. I can layer the groups in any way I see fit, and it stays neat, tidy, and flexible for mixing. I’d like to be able to do something similar in Renoise.

I’ve uploaded a screenshot from Ableton showing a small example to help explain what kind of organization I’m looking for.
ableton

Am I able to do something like this in Renoise?

Any ideas/input are appreciated :slight_smile:

Thanks!

renoise2

Here is a very, very crude representation of grouping I would like to see in the UI.

1 Like

While not as visually intuitive as an actual group, a send track can send to another send track that is to its right.

You could then have three send tracks that send to a fourth.

Instrument fx routing is extremely flexible and is a great way to go if you’re not using vst instruments. You can create multiple fx chains, in-instrument sends, and use separate modulation sets for each part of the “grouped” sound (read “instrument”). So the instrument can function like a group, with all effect routing internal to the instrument. If you’re using vsti, though, the process is a lot clunkier. Renoise really shines as an extra powerful, modular sampler, so, I encourage resampling and sample based synthesis wherever possible. Saves greatly on cpu as well. I can give an example of how this can be done, if you like.

2 Likes

Using instruments is turning out to be a very convenient way to group sounds. I’m happy that Renoise has it’s own workflow solution to this. In a way it’s more containerized than groups in Ableton. I admittedly haven’t experimented with instruments much before this. I do use some VST’s so I’ll use your advice of resampling.

Thank you for the advice! Thanks to James for replying as well. :slight_smile:

1 Like